Freshly awarded Nobel Prize winner at ABAA12

The Ulm Battery Conference ABAA12 (Advanced Lithium Batteries for Automobile Applications) was drawing to a close as the message from Stockholm spread in the audience. A conference participant had just been awarded the Nobel Prize on the same morning. Spontaneous jubilation, standing ovations and applause for the newly awarded winner: M. Stanley Whittingham - who himself had been informed of his award just a few minutes earlier by a telefphone call - sat calmly in the audience of the ABAA12 conference, when the news went around the world. He was honored with this year's Nobel Prize for Chemistry at 11:45 am with John B. Goodenough and Akira Yoshino for inventing the lithium-ion battery.

  • Prof. Stanley Whittingham
  • Group photo
  • What an honor!