11th Workhsop on Crystal Forms, Bologna 2021

Welcome to CF@Bo n.12, the 12th Bologna’s convention on crystal forms.

Please note that the maximum number of participants has been reached and we can no longer accept registrations. For the stand-by list write directly to prof. Dario Braga (

The series of meetings, initiated in 2006, is organized jointly by the Molecular Crystal Engineering (MCE) group at the Chemistry Department G. Ciamician of the University of Bologna and by the company PolyCrystalLine SpA, launched a year earlier as a spinoff of the MCE group.  CF@Bo n.12 is an extraordinary opportunity for open academy-industry discussions on the relevance of “crystal forms” as research and development topics in the fundamental and applied research domains.

As you can see, the scientific programme of this 12th edition is very dense and varied. Speakers are coming from universities, research institutions, and companies. We are proud of the response to our invitation and also very happy with the fair gender balance, which has always been an objective of our meeting. Besides the scientific and social programme, we have organized a special session (on Monday 11 at 5:30 pm) on the “crystal ceiling” experienced by women scientists in the development of their careers. We have also organized a mini-questionnaire on the important issue of sustainability of meeting and conferences.

Please, attend the talks and ask questions, take a look at the sponsors exhibits, and visit the “poster session with aperitif” scheduled on Monday 11 from 6 to 9 pm. Prizes for “best posters” are offered by Crystal Growth and Design (ACS) and by CrystEngComm (RSC).

Lecture and poster abstracts (max 1 page, A4 format, with title, authors and affiliation, text / figures and references) must be submitted before June 30 to and copied to

The convention will begin on Sunday, 10 September at 2 p.m. at the historical location of the Chemistry Department "Giacomo Ciamician" (Via F. Selmi 2) of the University of Bologna. Check-in will be possible at the Chemistry Dept. after 11:30 a.m. The meeting will continue on Monday 11 and Tuesday 12 at the Aemilia Hotel (Via Zaccherini Alvisi 16) nearby.

Both locations are easily reached by car or by public transports if arriving at the Airport or at Central Railway StationParticipants in CF@Bo have the unique opportunity to visit Bologna: a medieval town and the site of the oldest university of the Western world. The town centre in a few minutes' walk. For information about hotel booking, contact

We are grateful to the following sponsors: AIC (Italian Association of Crystallography), Anton Paar Italia, Dompé, SMS/Nordtest, Mettler-Toledo S.p.A., Bruker, PolyCrystalLine CMDO, Malvern Panalytical, Achelit srl, Netzsch, Technobis, Amofor.

The organizing committee: MCE: Dario Braga, Fabrizia Grepioni, Lucia Maini, Simone d’Agostino. PCL: Stefano Luca Giaffreda, Marco Curzi, Enrico Modena, Marco Glucini.